Home » Colleges in UK and Courses Offered for Students

Colleges in UK and Courses Offered for Students

Colleges in UK and Courses Offered for StudentsFurther education colleges in UK from Scotland. Wales and England offering higher education courses through open learning, distance learning, part-time and full-time study. Apprenticeships, SVQ, certificates, diplomas, undergraduate degree courses.

UK Colleges:  Further education college (Also known as FE Colleges) that provides courses from school age qualifications, adult learning, certificates, undergraduate and postgraduate degree and  apprenticeship training courses. Similar to a US community college.

Some colleges in the UK have joint names for college and university such as UHI after the college name, meaning the location of the University of the Highlands and Islands campus. For example Perth College UHI (Perth College University of the Highlands and Islands).

 

Colleges in UK

Further education colleges in the UK offer foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in a good selection of subjects . You can study on a college course in Scotland in a more rural area to a town or city. In England and Wales many colleges have partnerships with universities offering students credit for prior learning enabling them to complete a degree course following a Higher National Diploma (HND) for example.

Looking at the list of colleges of further education in the UK below you may recognise some of the towns, cities and rural area locations where each campus is located. As a Scottish person I know you can choose from a town, city, rural or more remote location for your college course studies.

I live in the village of Bankfoot Perthshire and you can sometimes become outnumbered by tractors.  SRUC and NAFC Marine Centre UHI are similar more rural locations providing good opportunities for outdoor and waters sports adventures on your doorstep, that is when you are not studying.

Majority of students choose to study at their local college, although may require to relocate to another area for the college course of your choice if it is less common or location dependent, such as agriculture studies.

 

Below are a list of colleges from Scotland, colleges in Wales, colleges in London and colleges in England

 

List of Colleges in Scotland

Dundee and Angus College   https://dundeeandangus.ac.uk

Argyll College UHI      https://www.argyll.uhi.ac.uk

Ayrshire College   http://www1.ayrshire.ac.uk       Kilmarnock

Borders College   http://www.borderscollege.ac.uk     Galashiels

City of Glasgow College   http://www.cityofglasgowcollege.ac.uk

Dumfries and Galloway College www.dumgal.ac.uk     Dumfries

Dundee and Angus College   https://dundeeandangus.ac.uk

Fife College  http://www.fife.ac.uk

Edinburgh College   http://www.edinburghcollege.ac.uk  

Forth Valley College www.forthvalley.ac.uk    Falkirk

Glasgow Clyde College   http://www.glasgowclyde.ac.uk    Glasgow

Glasgow Kelvin College   http://www.northglasgowcollege.ac.uk Glasgow

Inverness College UHI   http://www.inverness.uhi.ac.uk

Jewel & Esk College   http://www.jec.ac.uk    Edinburgh

Leith School of Art     http://www.leithschoolofart.co.uk   Edinburgh

Lews Castle College UHI     http://www.lews.uhi.ac.uk   Stornoway

Moray College UHI    https://www.moray.uhi.ac.uk   Elgin

NAFC Marine Centre UHI   https://www.nafc.uhi.ac.uk    Shetland

New Battle Abbey College    http://www.newbattleabbeycollege.ac.uk    Dalkeith

New College Lanarkshire  http://www.nclanarkshire.ac.uk

Northeast Scotland College   http://www.nescol.ac.uk

North Highland College UHI   http://www.northhighland.uhi.ac.uk  Thurso

Orkney College UHI    http://www.orkney.uhi.ac.uk        Kirkwall

Perth College UHI   http://www.perth.uhi.ac.uk

Sabhal Mor Ostaig   http://www.smo.uhi.ac.uk    Isle of Skye

Shetland College UHI    http://www.shetland.uhi.ac.uk     Lerwick

SRUC under Scotland Universities listings

West College Scotland  http://www.westcollegescotland.ac.uk

West Highland College UHI   http://www.lochaber.uhi.ac.uk/lochaber   Fort William

West Lothian College   http://www.west-lothian.ac.uk   Livingston

 

 

What other UK college course study?

Some of the largest colleges have nearly 400 courses to choose from that have faculty subjects in:

 

Engineering & Energy            Leisure & Lifestyle              Education & Society

Business               Nautical Studies              Creative Industries

 

Just about all FE colleges offer traditional trade qualifications for the building, care, hospitality, sports and leisure industries.

  • Qualify as 17th edition electrician or plumber
  • HNC in child care or adult care for nursing & care homes
  • HND in hospitality enabling a care in hospitality
  • Sports & leisure coaching qualifications
  • Business course from qualifying as an accountant to degrees in business & management

 

You could be in a class with people from the local area, Scotland, England and from other countries.  Students attend further education colleges in England, Scotland and Wales from Europe, Philippines and China for a specialist course in accounting (ACCA) or aircraft engineering as part of the University of the Highlands and Islands.

University students and older learners also take classes at college to gain a C grade and above in English, mathematics and science to further their career or for entry to teacher training towards a teaching career where good academic grades are a must.

UK colleges also continue to offer popular modern apprenticeships for a large number of courses in many industries from retail, business, building, and hospitality and customer service.  Learners attend college one day a week and then train on the job for 4 days.

 

Apprenticeships in Scotland and UK

Traditionally known as work based trade jobs, knowledge and skills modern apprenticeships in Scotland Wales and England training courses for some years now have evolved into valuable skill qualifications in their own right that are nationally recognised by employers.

Jobs are split into apprenticeship training courses for advanced apprenticeship for entry, intermediate level and advanced skills enhancement respectively.

Apprenticeships jobs are a work based qualification taking from 1 to 4 years. Modern apprenticeship training courses are predominately in work practical skills and knowledge training and possible day realise at college.

With over 200 apprenticeships to choice from in a range of industry sectors, many people have an opportunity to gain a new qualification. Apprenticeship vacancies can be with large organisations are a small company that is family run.  Do not expect to get rich while receiving a modern apprenticeship wage as you are on a training programme. although you have an apprenticeships job after training you will become qualified and receive a higher wage.

 

Employers of apprentices

Apprentice jobs in the UK training are conducted while being employed. You actually require a job first to start an apprenticeship. Employers can be from a range of industries, public, government and anywhere around the country.

As an employee you will work, train and build up your knowledge and skills working alongside experienced qualified people.

Check out official websites for training jobs: apprenticeships Scotland, Wales, England in London, Glasgow, Swansea and towns, cities and rural areas around the UK.

 

Training

Practical hands-on training throughout the apprenticeship in the company.

Modern Apprenticeships in Scotland Level

Intermediate Level Apprenticeships: Entry level suitable for many jobs for years.

Advanced Level Apprenticeships: More experience and gain higher level skills, knowledge and qualification.

Higher Apprenticeships: Knowledge-based qualifications that can include a foundation degree.

 

Assessment

Appropriate assessments take place before you are awarded the apprenticeship to test your skills, knowledge and competence for the work.

 

Apprenticeship wages

Not a lot, although a minimum training apprenticeship wage is provided throughout your training and some employers may provide additional payment and benefits.

 

Age restriction

16+ is the minimum to start an apprenticeship and you can start an apprenticeship at any time of your life although some employers have upper age limits.

 

Length of time

Apprenticeship training courses are between 1 to 4 years time for completion depending on the level and course you take.

 

Modern apprenticeships entry requirements

Each specific apprenticeship has its own entry requirements that can include age, certain skills, qualifications in English and Mathematics.

 

Cost

National Apprenticeship Service pays your fee depending on your age:

– 16-18 up to 100%
– 19-24 up to 50%
– 25-year-old plus pay your own costs

 

Broad sectors of apprentice jobs in Scotland, England, Wales

Agriculture, Horticulture and Animal Care
Arts, Media and Publishing
Business, Administration and Law
Construction, Planning and the Built Environment
Education and Training
Engineering and Manufacturing Technologies
Health, Public Services and Care
Information and Communication Technology
Leisure, Travel and Tourism
Retail and Commercial Enterprise

 

Search here for apprentice positions in the UK

https://www.apprenticeships.scot/find-a-vacancy     Scottish apprentice training courses

https://www.ourskillsforce.co.uk

Skills Development Scotland for Training

http://www.getingofar.gov.uk   Official UK government apprentice promotion website

 

Other websites advertise vacancies as well.

 

List of Colleges in Wales

The following is a list and choice of college in Wales offering modes of attendance including: part time, full time, open leaning and distance learning.  Further and higher education as well as sixth form colleges in Wales are listed for degree courses, diploma, certificates, apprenticeships, national vocational qualifications and other qualifications and training.

 

Barry College www.barry.ac.uk

Bridgend College www.bridgend.ac.uk

Coleg Ceredigion www.ceredigion.ac.uk

Coleg Glan Hafren www.glan-hafren.ac.uk

Coleg Gwent www.coleggwent.ac.uk

Coleg Harlech www.harlech.ac.uk

Coleg Llandrillo Cymru www.llandrillo.ac.uk

Coleg Menai www.menai.ac.uk

Coleg Morgannwq www.morgannwg.ac.uk

Coleg Powys www.coleg-powys.ac.uk

Coleg Sir Gar www.colegsirgar.ac.uk

Deeside College www.deeside.ac.uk

Glamorgan Centre for Art and Design Technology www.pontypridd.ac.uk

Gower College Swansea www.swancoll.ac.uk

Llandrillo College www.llandrillo.ac.uk

Merthyr Tydfil College www.merthyr.ac.uk

Neath Port Talbot College www.nptc.ac.uk

Pembrokeshire College www.pembrokeshire.ac.uk

St David’s Catholic College www.st-davids-coll.ac.uk

Yale College Wrexham www.yale-wrexham.co.uk

Ystrad Mynach College www.ystrad-mynach.ac.uk

 

 

List of Colleges in London

Adult Education College for Bexley    http://www.adultedbexley.org

Barking and Dagenham College www.barkingcollege.ac.uk

Barnet College www.barnet.ac.uk

Bexley College   http://www.bexley.ac.uk

Bromley College of Further and Higher Education   http://www.bromley.ac.uk

BSix Brooke House Sixth Form College   http://www.bsix.ac.uk

 

C

Capel Manor College   http://www.capel.ac.uk   Enfield

Carshalton College   http://www.carshalton.ac.uk  Sutton

Christ the King Sixth Form College   http://www.ctksfc.ac.uk   Lewisham

City & Islington College   http://www.candi.ac.uk

City Lit   http://www.citylit.ac.uk    Camden

City of Westminster College   http://www.cwc.ac.uk

College of North East London (CONEL)  http://www.conel.ac.uk  Tottenham

College of North West London   http://www.cnwl.ac.uk   Brent

Coulsdon College   http://www.coulsdon.ac.uk   Croydon

Croydon College www.croydon.ac.uk

 

E

Ealing, Hammersmith and West London College www.wlc.ac.uk

Enfield College    http://www.enfield.ac.uk

 

G

Greenwich Community College   http://www.gcc.ac.uk

 

H

Hackney Community College   http://www.hackney.ac.uk

Hampstead Garden Suburb Institute   http://www.hgsi.ac.uk   Barnet

Harrow College   http://www.harrow.ac.uk

Havering College of Further & Higher Education   http://www.havering-college.ac.uk

Havering Sixth Form College   http://www.havering-sfc.ac.uk

Hillcroft College  http://www.hillcroft.ac.uk    Kingston

Holborn College www.holborncollege.ac.uk

 

J

John Ruskin College   http://www.johnruskin.ac.uk   Croydon

 

K

Kensington & Chelsea College   http://www.kcc.ac.uk  Kensington & Chelsea

Kingston College   http://www.kingston-college.ac.uk

 

L

Lambeth College   http://www.lambethcollege.ac.uk

Lewisham College www.lewisham.ac.uk

Leyton Sixth Form College   http://www.leyton.ac.uk   Waltham Forest

 

M

Mary Ward Centre   http://www.marywardcentre.ac.uk   Camden

Morley College  http://www.morleycollege.ac.uk   Lambeth

Newham College of Further Education   http://www.newham.ac.uk

 

O

Orpington College of Further Education    http://www.orpington.ac.uk

 

R

Redbridge College   http://www.redbridge-college.ac.uk

Richmond Adult Community College   http://www.racc.ac.uk

Richmond-upon-Thames College   http://www.richmond-utcoll.ac.uk

 

S

Sir George Monoux College  http://www.george-monoux.ac.uk   Waltham Forest

South Thames College   http://www.south-thames.ac.uk  Wandsworth

Southgate College   http://www.southgate.ac.uk   Enfield

Southwark College www.southwark.ac.uk

St Charles Catholic Sixth Form College   http://www.stcharles.ac.uk   Kensington & Chelsea

St Dominic’s Sixth Form College   http://www.stdoms.ac.uk   Harrow

St Francis Xavier 6th Form College    http://www.sfx.ac.uk   Wandsworth

Stanmore College www.stanmore.ac.uk

Tower Hamlets College   http://www.tower.ac.uk

Uxbridge College   http://www.uxbridge.ac.uk  Hillingdon

Waltham Forest College   http://www.waltham.ac.uk

West Thames College www.west-thames.ac.uk

Westminster Adult Education Service   http://www.waes.ac.uk

Westminster Kingsway College www.westking.ac.uk

Woodhouse College http://www.woodhouse.ac.uk    Barnet

Working Men’s College   http://www.wmcollege.ac.uk  Camden

 

 

List of Colleges in England   (Outside London)

 

A

Amersham and Wycombe College www.amersham.ac.uk

Andover College www.andover.ac.uk

Askham Bryan College www.askham-bryan.ac.uk

 

B

Barnsley College www.barnsley.ac.uk

Basford Hall College www.ncn.ac.uk

Bicton College of Agriculture www.bicton.ac.uk

Birmingham College of Food, Tourism and Creative Studies www.bcftcs.ac.uk

Birmingham Metropolitan College www.bmetc.ac.uk

Blackburn College www.blackburn.ac.uk

Blackpool and The Fylde College www.blackpool.ac.uk

Bradford College www.bilk.ac.uk

Bridgewater College www.bridgwater.ac.uk

British School of Osteopathy www.bso.ac.uk

Burnley College www.burnley.ac.uk

Burton Upon Trent College www.burton-college.ac.uk

Bury College www.burycollege.ac.uk

 

C

Canterbury College www.canterbury.ac.uk

City College Coventry www.covcollege.ac.uk

City of Bristol College www.cityofbristol.ac.uk

College of West Anglia www.col-westanglia.ac.uk

Cornwall College www.cornwall.ac.uk

Croydon College www.croydon.ac.uk

 

D

Doncaster College www.don.ac.uk

Dudley College of Technology www.dudley.ac.uk

 

E

East Norfolk Sixth Form College www.enorf.ac.uk

East Surrey College www.esc.ac.uk

Eastleigh College www.eastleigh.ac.uk

European Business School www.ebslondon.ac.uk

European School of Osteopathy www.eso.ac.uk

 

F

Farnborough College of Technology www.farn-ct.ac.uk

 

G

Gloucestershire College of Arts and Technology www.gloscat.ac.uk

Grantham College www.grantham.ac.uk

Guildford College www.guildford.ac.uk

 

H

Hartlepool College of Further Education www.hartlepoolfe.ac.uk

Henley College www.henley-cov.ac.uk

Heythrop College www.heythrop.ac.uk

 

I

Isle of Wight College www.iwightc.ac.uk

 

K

Kirklees College www.dewsbury.ac.uk

 

L

Leeds College of Music www.lcm.ac.uk

Leicester College www.leicestercollege.ac.uk

Leo Baeck College www.lbc.ac.uk

Liverpool Community College www.liv-coll.ac.uk

Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts www.lipa.ac.uk

 

M

Manchester College of Arts and Technology www.mancat.ac.uk

Mid Cheshire College www.midchesh.ac.uk

 

N

Nescot www.nescot.ac.uk

North East Worcestershire College www.ne-worcs.ac.uk

North Tyneside College www.ntyneside.ac.uk

North Warwickshire and Hinckley College www.nwhc.ac.uk

NorthBrook College www.northbrook.ac.uk

Norwich City College www.ccn.ac.uk

 

P

Pembrookeshire College www.pembrookeshire.ac.uk

Peterborough College www.peterborough.ac.uk

Plumpton College www.plumpton.ac.uk

 

R

Regents College www.regents.ac.uk

Royal Agriculture College www.royagcol.ac.uk

Royal College of Art www.rca.ac.uk

 

S

Sandwell College www.sandwell.ac.uk

Sheffield College www.sheffcol.ac.uk

Shrewsbury College of Arts & Technology www.shrewsbury.ac.uk

Solihull College www.solihull.ac.uk

Somerset College www.somerset.ac.uk

South Birmingham College www.sbirmc.ac.uk

South Cheshire College www.s-cheshire.ac.uk

South Kent College www.southkent.ac.uk

South Thames College www.south-thames.ac.uk

Southampton City College www.southampton-city.ac.uk

Southport College www.southport-college.ac.uk

Sparsholt College Hampshire www.sparsholt.ac.uk

St Clare’s www.stclares.ac.uk

St Helens College www.sthelens.ac.uk

Stockport College of Further and Higher Education www.stockport.ac.uk

Suffolk College www.suffolk.ac.uk

Swindon College www.swindon-college.ac.uk

 

T

Tameside College www.tameside.ac.uk

Thurrock & Basildon College www.basildon.ac.uk

 

W

Wakefield College www.wakefield.ac.uk

Warrington Collegiate Institute www.warr.ac.uk

Warwickshire College www.warkscol.ac.uk

West Herts College www.westherts.ac.uk

West Suffolk College www.westsuffolk.ac.uk

Wigan and Leigh College www.wigan-leigh.ac.uk

Wirral Metropolitan College www.wmc.ac.uk

Worcester College of Technology www.wortech.ac.uk

 

Y

Yorkshire Coast College www.yorkshirecoastcollege.ac.uk

 

Choose wisely the course at a college in the UK as it affects your prospects of securing the job and career you wish, and any further study.